Weighing in – Going back to the Gym

Well, it’s been a while hasn’t it? Things have been kinda dragging for me and that’s why I haven’t been around. Let’s jump right in and tell you what’s been going on. 

My stats as of today – HW – 356 SW-309 CW-265 

I have lost 91 pounds in total and 44 pounds since surgery

I hit the gym today for the first time since surgery and I had a blast. I got a 3D body scan and can’t wait to see the results and then see the progress I make a few months from now. Then I got down to sweating and working out muscles I forgot I had. I haven’t felt so empowered in such a long time. I can’t even begin to explain how empowered and fabulous I feel right now.

I hit a stall for a little while a few weeks ago. I got very down hearted and didn’t know what I was doing wrong. I know I should be eating more protien and drinking more water. I sometimes wonder how anyone has enough hours in the day to do all that. I need to get better at meal planning and squeeze more water in. I never feel hungry or thirsty but I need to work it out and make it happen. I can do this. I am strong enough and have it in me. I have been tracking my progress on My Fitness Pal. (Always happy to be a support for anyone who needs a buddy). 


I know have been steadily losing weight, I am super proud of how far I’ve come, even though I think I could have come further by now. Self sabotage has always been a key factor in my dismantling. But I have been fighting my way through my mental blocks in plodding along. I have hit a point where I have to push through the self invalidation of “you’ve come so far but you could be further along” or “you have been eating exactly what you should but you had that ONE slip and that ruined EVERYTHING”. I know those thoughts happen, I have to learn to just let them pass over me and no let them bog me down or judge them. I am doing amazing, I just have to keep working on my positive self talk. It’s easier said than done.

Almost at the 3 month mark. I can’t wait to see what’s around the next corner. Coming Sunday. Strength training! Wooohooo!!!!

Author: Under the Guise of Glitter

Shaye is a stylistic editor and freelance photographer in Lancaster PA. Though growing up in New York gave her a wide perspective of life, being a gypsy finally made her plant her root where the air is fresh and so is the food. She is the Mommy of two wonderful kiddos. An Autism advocate and a green-tea-aholic. Self proclaimed geek, bookworm, pansexual and lover of everything that glitters. Currently she is trying to live out her dreams while writing of her life, love and loss.

Leave a Reply

