Week 2 post op

Well, there is no weigh in this week but I totally wanted to give you an update on everything that has gone on 🙂 

So we are just a little over 2 weeks out of surgery and life is going on. I am on full liquids now meaning yogurts and puddings and such. Trying to get in 60 to 80 grams of protien in and at least 64oz of water. When you have a tiny sleeve it is super hard to fit that much into a day. I have gotten very sick of my protien shakes and have started to try other things. I picked up some Premier Protien caramel drinks, which are 30grams of protien and taste pretty good just alone. They are a thicker liquid so they stay in my sleeve longer, they take me about an hour or so to drink a whole one but it’s worth it. I also have progressed myself a little faster to a little bit of a thicker liquid almost bordering on puree. I am not supposed to be starting on purees until Saturday,  but they are getting me full and my protien goals are getting met easier. I have also found myself with less pain and more energy this way. I am not advancing myself any quicker than this though. Sticking it out with purees until I am ready for soft foods, which won’t be until the end of the month.

Now let’s talk about the other stuff. Mentally I am exhausted. I have found it really hard to keep up with the process of healing and trying to keep on top of everuthing. I realize I can not yet handle everything I was doing before surgery, logically it makes sense, but I am still pushing myself to try. I also find myself stressing out over the little things. I wasn’t expecting an instant change but now that it is all said and done I don’t know what to expect. I sit here everyday and I’m wondering what is going to happen next. My support system is so big but I hardly have anyone around to physically hold my hand through this rollercoaster of emotions. I have been feeling very alone lately. I am trying to push through this. I know everything will be ok. I could just really use a hug.

The motivation is there. The drive is there. I am focused. I know things are going to great. This is just a bump. I got this.

More to come!

Sparkle thoughts!!

Author: Under the Guise of Glitter

Shaye is a stylistic editor and freelance photographer in Lancaster PA. Though growing up in New York gave her a wide perspective of life, being a gypsy finally made her plant her root where the air is fresh and so is the food. She is the Mommy of two wonderful kiddos. An Autism advocate and a green-tea-aholic. Self proclaimed geek, bookworm, pansexual and lover of everything that glitters. Currently she is trying to live out her dreams while writing of her life, love and loss.

4 thoughts on “Week 2 post op”

  1. Yay for two weeks down! It really does get easier with every week that passes. I like the caramel flavor of the premier protein drinks too and find that even 6 months out I’m still picking up new protein powders and shakes just to mix things up.

    As for the mental/emotional side of things – Oh I hear ya. I’ve definitely gone through bouts of the “mehs” and feeling low. There’s a lot of change happening and it’s sometimes hard not to lean on that old reliable crutch: food. Keep writing about it and being aware – I think that’s what has helped me the most! Just noticing those feelings and talking about them.

    Like

  2. You’ve got this! I can’t promise the emotional aspect of this gets better, there are times, especially in this first 6 months, that it gets very hard. But remember the end goal and the reason you made this choice to begin with – it WILL help. Hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

