Weighing in 9/6/2016

Well here we are a week later, ok 8 days…sue me, and I wanted to check and let you know what’s going on. So first things first. I am officially weighing in at 314 pounds! That’s 4 less than last week and I am totally stoked. I will get into what my week has been like to see where those 4 pounds went in a little but but for a moment I will revel in the victory that is mine. In celebration I have done a dance, covered myself in glitter and cut my hair. The hair thing may have been more of an I need a change mood but still, it looks cute. I will include pictures in this post once I put on my outfit from last week so we can do a comparison. 

So where shall we begin? In bariatric news, all of my paper work was submitted to the insurance company. After waiting with my breath held for a week I FINALLY got a call this morning for the nurse…the call wasn’t anything productive. According to the insurance company, they have 14 days to look over all the submitted paperwork and approve everything. They haven’t even touched it yet. So it would seem they are planning on taking the full 14 days to do so. *deep breath* That’s fine, keep on looking on the bright side, all the paperwork is in, everything is peachy, the waiting game is the worst part. 

The past week has been a mixture of eventful and emotional. There was a huge change to our routine being that school just began. Uniforms had to be laid out, wakes up were earlier, walking back and forth started again. Regular meals on a schedule started again. The willy nilly routine flew out the window to something stricter and more productive. And it has shown. In the past 8 days I have found myself drinking more water and less sugary soft drinks. I will admit that my morning Starbucks run has started again, but I find myself justifying it with the fact that in a months time those days will be long gone, it’s a treat I afford myself and I don’t need to justify it more that that. But I do. I have a guilt complex. I have also found myself, other than the back and forth to the bus stop, walking from 30 to 60 minutes a day. Be it around a park to enjoy the day and find the perfect spot to read, wrote or blog OR be it between all the errands, appointments or running around I have to do. At the end of the night I have been tired enough to go to bed and that feels good. My muscles ache between the exercise and my fibro but I know that in the long run, this is not a bad thing.

The tool I think has helped me the most though, aside from change in eating habits, routine and exercise is tracking my food. Now just like all the naysayers, I really was one that would have ridiculed my statement by I really believe it. Taking the time to write down (well type out) what I have eaten, how much water I have drank and how much exercise I have done really puts into perspective where I am with my goals. All that I have learned from my nutritionist is set and as I plug in my food I see if I am really making the right choices for my body and what I can do differently. I have a whole virtual support team cheering me on as I hit my goals and it feels wonderful to be able to take on challenges day by day. 

Also, finding out just how much my exercising is paying off makes me feel really good. 6 hours at the Renaissance Faire makes you feel like a goddess! Going into next week I am trying to cut sodas out completely, that is my goal. Here’s to the hard part! 

Add me on My Fitness Pal and we can cheer each other on! I’m Bohemianrockchick 

Cheers,

Shaye

Author: Under the Guise of Glitter

Shaye is a stylistic editor and freelance photographer in Lancaster PA. Though growing up in New York gave her a wide perspective of life, being a gypsy finally made her plant her root where the air is fresh and so is the food. She is the Mommy of two wonderful kiddos. An Autism advocate and a green-tea-aholic. Self proclaimed geek, bookworm, pansexual and lover of everything that glitters. Currently she is trying to live out her dreams while writing of her life, love and loss.

Leave a Reply

