Bariatric Update – LAST Class!!!

So on Friday I had my last nutrition class at my bariatric office. It consisted mainly of telling us pretty and post op procedures and dieting guidelines. I also found out what’s going on with my surgery date.So first things first – Surgery…What happens is usually they put all the paperwork through to the insurance. Once it clears you have your final appointment with the surgeon and your paper. You get your date that day. The snafu in my paperwork hit because my pulmonary doc retired before my followup and they never got a written clearance from the new doc (even though I was cleared). Soooo…they need to get the clearance, then push the papers, then things will be in order. Usually insurance takes from two days to two weeks to approve everything…They have never had a patient with my insurance before, so who knows how long it will take! It’s a had pill to swallow, I’ve come so far to just hurry up and wait.

Secondly my class – So it was pretty standard in what we go through for the surgery ( I’m going to go into a lot of depth in a separate post).  We have to buy the 10 day meal supplement through them for the 10 days before surgery. It is going to be a liquid diet and I already know I am going to be cranky. We did a taste test if the Bariatric Advantage meal supplement shakes since that is what we are paying the big bucks for…I am not excited. They taste somewhere between chalk and sludge and though tolerable, I am aware it is going to be a very long 10 days. 

What kind of diet did you have to go on before surgery? How long did you have to wait?

Author: Under the Guise of Glitter

Shaye is a stylistic editor and freelance photographer in Lancaster PA. Though growing up in New York gave her a wide perspective of life, being a gypsy finally made her plant her root where the air is fresh and so is the food. She is the Mommy of two wonderful kiddos. An Autism advocate and a green-tea-aholic. Self proclaimed geek, bookworm, pansexual and lover of everything that glitters. Currently she is trying to live out her dreams while writing of her life, love and loss.

Leave a Reply

