Weighing in on being THICK

So first things first, as I hopped on the scale today I started all over again. By all over again i mean, it’s my birthday so though I am still on the same journey, I start a new year for my life, my mindfulness and a new book that is being written. A lot of things happened during the past year of my life that directly or indirectly attributed to the amount of weight I gained. The past year also weighed heavily on my path to bariatric surgery and where I am right now. So on my 33rd birthday I stepped on the scale and found I had lost 4 pounds since my last weigh-in, not where I wanted to be but not bad. I am not mad at myself. Progress is progress.

591c2fe945fed5b567963052244fd6e5

Onto the topic at hand…The word THICK. Now when I think of the word thick the first thing that comes to my mind is…a milkshake, a novel, a cheeseburger. Not once in there did a big girl come to mind. Not an ass, or a pair of tights or even a nicely curved waist. Thick is a word that was introduced into the slang for what beauty is a long time ago but didn’t seem to be used as often as I hear it used now. I hear the word thick now and it makes me want to cringe, girls saying they are thick, guys saying they like thick girls. Where the hell, who the fuck comes up with this crap. Who wants to be described like a milkshake? As a woman that downright depresses me, I mean you may as well call a lady lumpy. I am not a book or a milkshake, I am a woman. I am a big girl, I am curvy, I am voluptuous, I am sexy. There are so many words that can be used to describe a woman’s curves if they turn you on, that thick is just unbearable. Thick was a word that was used to describe people that were slower than the rest on an intellectual level. It is just a word that gets thrown around when you fail to have something else to say. So pick up a damn thesaurus and find another word to describe the gentle curves of a womanly body you want to be pressed up against your own.

8d4554d2555349bf2ee65c2384c061d8

Look I even FOUND you some good ones!

More words related to curvy

Author: Under the Guise of Glitter

Shaye is a stylistic editor and freelance photographer in Lancaster PA. Though growing up in New York gave her a wide perspective of life, being a gypsy finally made her plant her root where the air is fresh and so is the food. She is the Mommy of two wonderful kiddos. An Autism advocate and a green-tea-aholic. Self proclaimed geek, bookworm, pansexual and lover of everything that glitters. Currently she is trying to live out her dreams while writing of her life, love and loss.

Leave a Reply

