Weekend Warrior (or Something just as cool)

Ever since my knee has laid me up I have been trying to compensate by doing as much as I can to get walking in. They say walking is great for Fibro…and since it’s cardiovascular we have double the benefits….First things first here…MY fibro kicks the crappie out if my upper body, so unless I’m walking in my hands….you get my point. Secondly, I spent the better part of Thursday in an MRI trying to figure out why my knee can be played like a Bop-it.
The point is, this weekend while the kids were away I was determined to get out of the house and get some fitness in…YAY FITNESS! Originally, I was going to go LARPing  (Look it up) but due to an unfortunate rough housing incident, my knee got bashed pretty bad so hiking and boffer fighting seemed the wrong way to go. Had to go the other route. I spent the weekend collecting Pokemon.

Now before you go on you high and mighty rants about it, all I have to say is this. Not only did I hit and exceed my 10,000 steps on my fit bit each day, I put in a good 6 hours outside a day walking around, I spent quality time laughing with my sister in law AND I met a whole diverse cross section of people from all over my neighborhood and had some great conversations ranging from Pokemon to politics to religion to movies and everything else you could possibly think of. Nay say the game all you want, it did exactly what I needed it to do AND I found myself more social and active even just having my phone in my pocket. 

So with that in mind…

How was YOUR weekend? Did you hit your goals? Did you reach your steps? Did you catch something super cool? Wanna be my fit bit buddy? 

Stay hydrated and awesome!

Author: Under the Guise of Glitter

Shaye is a stylistic editor and freelance photographer in Lancaster PA. Though growing up in New York gave her a wide perspective of life, being a gypsy finally made her plant her root where the air is fresh and so is the food. She is the Mommy of two wonderful kiddos. An Autism advocate and a green-tea-aholic. Self proclaimed geek, bookworm, pansexual and lover of everything that glitters. Currently she is trying to live out her dreams while writing of her life, love and loss.

1 thought on “Weekend Warrior (or Something just as cool)”

  1. A lot of people are seeing the benefits of Pokémon Go. They are saying the exact same thing you are, that they are getting out of the house and walking around. Sure it looks a little strange seeing some e walking around seemingly oblivious to what’s going on around them trying to catch this ‘thing’ that you can see on your phone but just isn’t there. But people are getting out there, they ARE being more social. I say keep doing what you are doing girlie and let the haters hate. What works for most doesn’t work for all. Sparkly glittery thoughts on your journey, my friend!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

