Weigh in 7/14/15

Nutrition and 1 on 1

319.2 I gained 7 pounds since the last time I went to the doc which was about 3 weeks ago. I tend to weigh myself on every scale I have available but I don’t like to go by any of them except for my Doc’s. So when I stepped on it today and saw that I gained 7lbs I was mildly disheartened. Now I know that I didn’t have to lose weight for my surgery but I was on a good streak, hoping to break the 300lb mark before my best friends wedding at the end of the month. Losing 12 pounds seemed a lot easier than the now 20 that I have to drop. Granted, my knee went out on me about 3 and a half weeks ago and I have not been able to keep up the walking due to that or the heat. I am not making excuses. I am just stating what has been holding me back.

So let’s see. I gained 7 lbs but I still have lost enough that I am down almost 3 pants sizes and definitely down 2 shirt sizes. I still look in the mirror and see what can only be described as Gweneth Paltrow in Shallow Hal but that is something I am working on. I discussed it with my nutritionist today and we discussed the importance of positive self-talk as well as following the nutritional guidelines. I try to be as positive with myself talk even when all I see int he mirrors is something that reflected back at me may not be true.

Today was my 1 on 1 with my nutritionist, it was my second to last class with her before surgery. We went over my meal planning skills along with the options for protein supplements for post op treatment. I found that my surgeon has a very strict pre and post op diet, but his is very well known to keep you on the right path to actually succeeding in your journey forward. As of right now that hardest thing for me is going to be portion sizing. Not that actually eating only what I need to is going to be a problem, it is if I have to measure something, that may cause a problem because that is something I am totally not used to.

So now I have all these brochures and numbers to call for sample flavors and packets and powders, all leading up to which vitamins and substitutes I want to use after surgery.

I am not focusing o the 20lbs right now, I have lost over 60 already so I am really fucking proud of myself. Slow but steady, I am already winning in this race!!!

Author: Under the Guise of Glitter

Shaye is a stylistic editor and freelance photographer in Lancaster PA. Though growing up in New York gave her a wide perspective of life, being a gypsy finally made her plant her root where the air is fresh and so is the food. She is the Mommy of two wonderful kiddos. An Autism advocate and a green-tea-aholic. Self proclaimed geek, bookworm, pansexual and lover of everything that glitters. Currently she is trying to live out her dreams while writing of her life, love and loss.

Leave a Reply

